You will need to clear the authorization you're currently using for Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) if you want to authorize your computer with a different OverDrive account or Adobe ID.

Sometimes clearing your authorization can fix transfer or download trouble as well.

Please remember that when you clear your authorization, any eBooks you've previously downloaded to ADE will no longer work, as they are tied to the authorization credentials that you originally used to download them.

Note: These instructions are for ADE 2.0 or newer. We recommend always using the latest version of ADE.

Deauthorizing Adobe Digital Editions

  1. Open ADE.
  2. Depending on your operating system, do one of the following:
    • Windows: Press Ctrl + Shift + D on the keyboard.
    • Mac: Press Command + Shift + D on the keyboard.
  3. In the pop-up window that opens, enter the password for the account you used to authorize ADE (this could be an Adobe ID or OverDrive account). You'll also want to make sure the correct account is listed in the drop-down menu. Then, click Continue.
    Screenshot of ADE with prompts to log in before you can remove your authorization
  4. Click Erase Authorization.
    Screenshot showing the Erase Authorization button in ADE
  5. When the process is complete, click OK to close the dialog box and return to ADE.
    Screenshot showing the pop-up window confirming that your computer has been deauthorized

The next time you try to download a newly checked out library book, you'll automatically be prompted to authorize your computer.

Last Updated: Jan 04, 2017 11:33AM EST